Global Best Practices Conference

January 27-29, 2019
Changers of Commerce January 30th
Registration closes 1/24!

What are the Best Practices Awards?

Each year, TDn2K™ (Transforming Data into Knowledge) hosts the Global Best Practices Conference, an event designed to bring together the best and brightest restaurant leaders to share insights as well as honor those in the industry who have truly gone above and beyond in creating superior workplaces. During the conference, TDn2K presents several awards to celebrate such workplaces, including the Best Practices Awards, the Diamond Catalyst Award, the Workplace Legacy Award and the Heart of the Workplace Award.

The Best Practices Awards

The Best Practices Awards are awarded to a restaurant in each dining segment for outstanding performance in categories such as workforce diversity, community involvement and sustainable practices. Nominees must be members of People Report™ and place in the top 10% of their segment in these categories.

The 2019 finalists includedNinety Nine Restaurants, Olive Garden, LongHorn, Outback Steakhouse, Norms, Eat ‘n Park, Silver Diner, First Watch, City Barbeque, Habit Burger, La Madeleine, Portillo’s, Fogo de Chão Brazilian Steakhouse, The Capital Grille, J Gilbert’s, Fleming’s, Boddie Noell, The Wendy’s Company, Whataburger, BJ’s Restaurant & Brewhouse, Kings Seafood, and The Cheesecake Factory.

The 2018 winners in each segment were:

  • Quick Service: The Wendy’s Company
  • Fast Casual: Panda Express
  • Family Dining: Eat’n Park
  • Casual Dining: Olive Garden
  • Upscale Casual: The Cheesecake Factory
  • Fine Dining: The Capital Grille

The Diamond Catalyst Award

The Diamond Catalyst Award is a tribute to superior operational and workplace results. Eligible companies are members of both People Report and Black Box Intelligence™ and are evaluated based on sales and traffic performance as well as employment and people practices. The recipient of this award sets the standard for overall best in class business performance. The Diamond Catalyst was given for the first time in 2013 to The Cheesecake Factory, and presented to Olive Garden in 2017.

The 2018 Diamond Catalyst Award winner was fast casual restaurant chain Panera Bread.

The Workplace Legacy Award

The Workplace Legacy Award recognizes a leader in the restaurant industry who has clearly demonstrated success in balancing superior people practices and best in class operational results. In addition, their employees, organizations and communities have benefited from their leadership. The Workplace Legacy Award was given for the first time in 2005 and has honored incredible industry leaders such as Doug Brooks, Chairman and CEO of Brinker International, Gene Lee, President and CEO of Darden Restaurants, John Miller, President and CEO of Denny’s Restaurants, Sally Smith, President & CEO of Buffalo Wild Wings and Danny Meyer, founder and CEO of Union Square Hospitality Group.

The 2019 recipient is Steve King, former CEO of Dave & Busters. “Through my many years of knowing and working with Steve, I have always valued his opinion & perspective,” said Wally Doolin, chairman and founder of TDn2K, “His combination of exceptional intellectual capacity coupled with his humility to listen to others makes him a truly respected and proven leader.”

“I was privileged to work for a number of leaders, who believed in the power of building teams, as the way to creating a successful business. As I grew and developed as a leader, I was able to continue living this philosophy and pass it on to those I worked with, thereby growing brands and achieving success. To be recognized by TDn2K, the industry organization that has been a leader in the recognition that people are the primary ingredient to our success is a great honor,” said King.

Heart of the Workplace Award

The Heart of the Workplace Award is presented to the company that demonstrates significant commitment to and investment in their employees and communities. Winners from previous years include Red Lobster, Panera Bread, Chili’s and Red Robin. In 2018, it was awarded to BJ’s Restaurants .“We believe at BJ’s that we are only successful if our team members are successful and our communities are vibrant. We listen to each other, we celebrate each other and we take care of each other. It is part of our DNA and something we actively do every day,” said Lon Ledwith, executive vice president at BJ’s Restaurants.

Days Until Conference








Global Best Practices Conference